Whats the difference

Motors, speed controllers, batteries and other e-power stuff

Whats the difference

Postby monkeyjay » Fri May 27, 2011 9:40 pm

Hi There

I'm Jay and I am brand new to RC Planes, so shiny new in fact that i do not own one yet lol I do however need a question answered I am going to buy a turnagy 9x and fit a frsky module to it but what is the difference between http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=14353
and http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=17205 apart from price, Hobby King has the same description for both.
Also while we are flogging the noob for my lack of knowledge what would be a good plane to start on, I know I cant jump straight into flying warbirds which is what i really want to do but I am thinking of this http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=16568 to start with.
any help would be greatly appreciated many thanks Jay
monkeyjay

Re: Whats the difference

Postby RCModelReviews » Fri May 27, 2011 9:52 pm

The first item you link to is the 1-way FrSky DIY conversion kit.

The second item is the 2-way kit which offers the ability to use telemetry.

The choice is yours but either way you'll also need to buy a matching FrSky receiver. The 1-way can only use 1-way receivers, the 2-way system can use the cheaper 1-way receivers or the 2-way (telemetry) receivers.

I've already done a video showing how to fit the 1-way system and will be doing a video showing how to fit the 2-way system soon. Note that the newer 2-way systems use a toggle switch instead of those fiddly DIP switches to change from 1-way to 2-way, which is a great improvement. I'm not sure which ones HK are stocking right now. There's also an advisory on the RCModelReviews website about some of the 2-way systems that need to be switched into bind mode in 2-way mode temporarily before you use them the first time.