FUTABA FF7 WITH SPEKTRUM MODULE

Problems, experiences or just something to say about RC gear? Say it here.

FUTABA FF7 WITH SPEKTRUM MODULE

Postby ANDYL » Fri Mar 23, 2012 3:01 pm

Afternoon,

I have a parkzone sukhoi su26 xp indoor model which i,m using the supplied parkzone 2.4 transmitter with, the controls are very twitchy and as the radios basic there is nothing such as expo to slow things down.

Parkzone state the model can be bound with spektrum transmitters (the parkzone uses a spektrum receiver)

I have a Futaba ff7 which i could fit a spektrum module to but they are around £120.00 new (i could buy a Spektrum dx6i for £90.00).

Anyone know of another module or hack that i could use with the futaba ff7 to control a spektrum receiver that will be cheaper?

Incidentaly I have the frsky hack in my Futaba 6exa which works great but does not help with the above.

Any ideas appreciated.

Andy L
ANDYL
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: FUTABA FF7 WITH SPEKTRUM MODULE

Postby BillGriffiths100 » Fri Mar 23, 2012 3:37 pm

Compromising with out of control government is like living with a lion, sooner or later the bloody thing will eat you .

You accept the tyranny of the state when it's not being applied to you, when it is: it's too late.
User avatar
BillGriffiths100
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:04 pm
Location: London UK

Re: FUTABA FF7 WITH SPEKTRUM MODULE

Postby ANDYL » Fri Mar 23, 2012 3:40 pm

Bill,

Thanks for reply,i am aware of the frsky plug in module but don,t think this will operate a spektrum receiver?

Andy l
ANDYL
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: FUTABA FF7 WITH SPEKTRUM MODULE

Postby BillGriffiths100 » Fri Mar 23, 2012 5:00 pm

No it won't your best bet is probably a dx5e for around £40
For example:
http://www.kingslynnmodelshop.co.uk/Rad ... tAoddFoR4A

No clones have been produced for a TX module for Spektrum to my knowledge.
Compromising with out of control government is like living with a lion, sooner or later the bloody thing will eat you .

You accept the tyranny of the state when it's not being applied to you, when it is: it's too late.
User avatar
BillGriffiths100
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:04 pm
Location: London UK

Re: FUTABA FF7 WITH SPEKTRUM MODULE

Postby ANDYL » Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:39 pm

Bill,

Have looked at the dx5 but it is very basic and does not have expo settings ,servo reverse is as good as it gets.

Someones missing a trick here if there are no transmitter clones to work with spektrum gear?

Andy L
ANDYL
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: FUTABA FF7 WITH SPEKTRUM MODULE

Postby BillGriffiths100 » Sat Mar 24, 2012 12:41 pm

You're probably stuck with getting a 6i then unless you do surgery on the TX you have and turn it into a module for your ff7.
The fact that the cheap tx you have is compatible with spektrum means a clone module could be available on the market but perhaps copyright prevents it.
I don't suppose it has a trainer port?
Compromising with out of control government is like living with a lion, sooner or later the bloody thing will eat you .

You accept the tyranny of the state when it's not being applied to you, when it is: it's too late.
User avatar
BillGriffiths100
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:04 pm
Location: London UK

Re: FUTABA FF7 WITH SPEKTRUM MODULE

Postby ANDYL » Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:01 pm

Bill,
Hadn't thought of using internals for a module,I have a spare parkzone transmitter which I could do this with.

Just opened up and the board the aerial is connected to (which is the one I think I need) is soldered to the main board with three pins.

Guess I need to work out which is gnd,+ & ppm,anyone know this before I start guessing?

Andy l
ANDYL
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: FUTABA FF7 WITH SPEKTRUM MODULE

Postby BillGriffiths100 » Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:37 am

Andy,
Put a battery in turn on and measure the pins with a voltmeter
The pins that show the highest voltage between them will be the pos and neg a slight voltage will be on the signal line.
Measuring from neg to signal should show a slight positive voltage.
Compromising with out of control government is like living with a lion, sooner or later the bloody thing will eat you .

You accept the tyranny of the state when it's not being applied to you, when it is: it's too late.
User avatar
BillGriffiths100
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:04 pm
Location: London UK


Return to Radios and Servos

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron