FrSky Diy module, PPM signal

If you've been building electronic bits or modifying stuff you've bought then tell us all about it here. A good place to discuss the installation of 2.4GHz DIY modules too.

FrSky Diy module, PPM signal

Postby kaymm2 » Tue Dec 14, 2010 7:38 am

I have a E-fly radio that has a simulator port that I think outputs the PPM signal through the mono headphone jack. I measured the voltage with a multimeter and the center is positive 3.7V. I think this is the PPM signal because it comes with a USB dongle for FMS and says PPM in the control panel. And it works fine with FMS too. Could I use this as the contact point to solder the PPM signal wire from the FrSky module?
kaymm2
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 7:32 am

Re: FrSky Diy module, PPM signal

Postby peril » Sun Dec 19, 2010 1:34 am

I'm no expert here mind you, but that seems a bit high compared with my experience with a JR 2610 PPM signal. It measured with a voltmeter ane 'average' voltage of 0.5v for PPM signal. This signal is not a static one so there is no accuracy in this figure.

You may need the diode mod for this one if voltage is high, I believe the target voltage is 3.3v, read all you can on this site re PPM voltage to find more.

Only way to know for sure is to measure with an oscilloscope unless someone else has tested this Tx before?



viewtopic.php?f=47&t=342
EF1 Rox
User avatar
peril
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:45 am
Location: Sydney Australia

Re: FrSky Diy module, PPM signal

Postby kaymm2 » Sun Dec 19, 2010 1:53 am

I got it working. The ppm signal was in the sim port At 3.7v. my frisky module had a diode on it already so all is good. I was able to bind it to a V8R4 rx.
kaymm2
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 7:32 am

Re: FrSky Diy module, PPM signal

Postby labuscj1 » Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:52 pm

hi I want to know if it will be posable to take the frsky JR or futaba module and bild it into a non module baced radio. as I order a diy module of frsky from hobbyking and thy still hade stoke the day I submited m order and now thay tell me there was a error on the system so thay have stok of the jr moduls so I were thinking of taking it out of the box and build it into my JR2610 TX
labuscj1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:45 pm


Return to DIY Projects and Hacks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron