Page 1 of 1

Converting from 120 VAC to 230 VAC?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:31 pm
by Cossie18
Hi.

I bought http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/rc-power-supplyadaptor-competition-elec-switching-supply-cei3710-p-27597.html from rcmart.com to use with my charger. It's input voltage is set at 120 VAC. I want to turn it into 230 VAC because i live in Norway. I have bought the cables needed, but I do not know how to switch it from 120 VAC to 230 VAC.

I got some pictures showing the fuse and the place inside the psu saying 230 volt. Your assistance is both needed and highly appreciated.


Pictures: http://s51.photobucket.com/albums/f368/RRJ_018/psu/

Re: Converting from 120 VAC to 230 VAC?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:33 pm
by RCModelReviews
It's not possible to tell from those pictures I'm afraid.

It'd probably only take a minute to spot it if I had the unit sitting in front of me but the pictures don't give enough accurate detail.

Chances are there will be a jumper that turns the full-wave rectifier into a half-wave rectifier when switching from 110VAC to 230VAC. If you know anything about electronics you'll know what I man.

The jumper should be around the area of the diodes that turn the mains AC into DC.

Otherwise I guess you'll have to email the supplier or manufacturer for details.

Re: Converting from 120 VAC to 230 VAC?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:53 pm
by cmulder
if the specs do not list the input voltage range up to 230/240 volt and there is no switch the only thing you could do it put a 220/110 transformer in front of it.

Re: Converting from 120 VAC to 230 VAC?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 2:29 pm
by hiTmanhiT
cmulder wrote:if the specs do not list the input voltage range up to 230/240 volt and there is no switch the only thing you could do it put a 220/110 transformer in front of it.


It does say in the description "120 VAC(pre-set) or 230 VAC (Req. internal jumper)