How much room in the AXN Floater?

Here's an area where you can ask any kind of question about RC models and find a whole lot of useful information to help you get started.

How much room in the AXN Floater?

Postby Fury » Thu Aug 04, 2011 12:02 am

Quick question.
Is there enough room in the AXN Floater for a FY21A and OSD?
Or should I get a Skywalker for the room?
Any advice would be much appreciated as I want to set up a good FPV.
Thanks
Fury

Re: How much room in the AXN Floater?

Postby pete139 » Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:17 am

I have no experience with that plane, just some internet research because I had the same question. In the end I chose a Hobbyking Bixler which I ordered last night (A clone of the EasyStar/SkySurfer with Ailerons. Comes in kit/arf/rtf), a popular platform for FPV. Its sized in between the SkyWalker and AXN Floater.

Interested to see other comments about this.
pete139

Postby bmsweb » Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:25 am

pete139 wrote:. . . In the end I chose a Hobbyking Bixler which I ordered last night (A clone of the EasyStar/SkySurfer with Ailerons. Comes in kit/arf/rtf), a popular platform for FPV

I've also selected the same model, just waiting for HK AU to get it back in stock. If they don't get it soon then I'll buy it from HK International. I've watched a fair bit of footage from the Bixler and the video footage seems pretty stable.
bmsweb

Postby Sid Sideslip » Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:45 am

I've been torn between the AXN and the Bixler. I'm waiting for Bruce's FPV review before I decide. In the meantime I'm actually going to use this tractor prop 2m glider with the camera mounted high and at the rear of the wing. You get a real feel of flying the plane from that view and I'm quite comfortable flying full size gliders so control won't be an issue (hopefully).

Here's a video of one flying...I'd actually have the camera further back than that...near where his fpv Tx is.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZIwCNxyPjU