Beginners transmitter

Here's an area where you can ask any kind of question about RC models and find a whole lot of useful information to help you get started.

Beginners transmitter

Postby Yellowirenut » Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:29 am

Hello all,
I am very new to this hobby, i have crashed a few cheep park fliers from large chain stores but looking at getting deeper in to it.
(also hello sid)
I was curious about a nice radio to start out on.
I have read some things about the Turnigy and was wondering if the mods are necessary fro a beginner? I have talked to a few at my local club and they seemed to poo on the Turnigy noting software and communication issues. Have those items been fixed with the new version?

I don't see the need to start out with a $400 transmitter if a $60 will fit my needs of crashing and learning the art of repair :mrgreen:
Yellowirenut

Re: Beginners transmitter

Postby Sid Sideslip » Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:21 pm

Yellowirenut wrote:Hello all,
I am very new to this hobby, i have crashed a few cheep park fliers from large chain stores but looking at getting deeper in to it.
(also hello sid)
I was curious about a nice radio to start out on.
I have read some things about the Turnigy and was wondering if the mods are necessary fro a beginner? I have talked to a few at my local club and they seemed to poo on the Turnigy noting software and communication issues. Have those items been fixed with the new version?

I don't see the need to start out with a $400 transmitter if a $60 will fit my needs of crashing and learning the art of repair :mrgreen:

Haha, hi mate!

Go easy on him guys, he's sometimes the world's worst speller but a great guy (we are mates on another forum). :lol:

OK, I'll start off and no doubt Bruce will have better and wiser things to say.

Out of the box the Turnigy 9x is...