I'm new to RC and bought an AXN

Here's an area where you can ask any kind of question about RC models and find a whole lot of useful information to help you get started.

I'm new to RC and bought an AXN

Postby Hallmark » Mon Feb 13, 2012 2:47 am

Hi all,

I'm new to RC and have trolled the Internet looking for the best beginner plane, radio and accessories.

On the advice of a model shop I bought the FMS Cessna 182 V2 (1400mm wingspan). I also bought a Futaba 10CG that came with a 6208SB Rx and a large balance charger that seems to do all I will need.

I selected the 182 because it resembles the aircraft I learned to fly many years ago (started in a C152 and changed to a Piper Warrior later as I prefer low wing planes). So I build the 182 and on my birthday I take it out to a large group of ovals for the maiden. Had I done my pre-flight properly (was done just not with any real attention), I would have noticed the flaps servos were mounted in correctly and either changed the set-up or reversed the channel. Instead I took off and found the Cessna was not very hard to fly. When I decided to land I switched the flaps and I chased the controls for a few seconds and eventually I was overloaded and the inevitable happened... One wrecked Cessna! :oops:

So where to from here? Troll the Internet and look for a better plane. I found Bruce's posts on YouTube and the three AXN build videos - problem solved! So now where to buy it? I looked on HK and decided against it as 1/ the Australian warehouse was out of stock and 2/ I could get it for $38.99 from another site who offered 3 day EMS delivery. This was the build version Bruce suggested and I am now sitting waiting for the Express delivery to arrive.

Well now I shall return to waiting for the postie and flying vicariously through YouTube and 'Niel's Maiden Flight'... Updates soon.
Last edited by Hallmark on Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:36 am, edited 1 time in total.