PSU Unit twin rail Question

Here's an area where you can ask any kind of question about RC models and find a whole lot of useful information to help you get started.

PSU Unit twin rail Question

Postby jason65r » Sun Nov 04, 2012 3:43 am

Hi All. I would like to get this model charger
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... arger.html
I was wondering if I got say this for example
http://www.trademe.co.nz/computers/comp ... 30862.html
And I joined the DC Output rails +12V1and +12V2 together would I get combined amps value of 12v 56 amp's
jason65r

Re: PSU Unit twin rail Question

Postby Gordon » Sun Nov 11, 2012 6:56 am

Hi Jason,
I'm a relative noob to RC stuff, but I flatter myself :oops: that I know a little bit about electronics.
I would not advise connecting the two 12V rails together because, generally, switch mode power supplies are not designed to allow current sharing. That is, it could happen that one of the 12V rails could supply most or all and the current, and this could upset the voltage regulation circuits.

Because you've selected a fairly powerful supply, I think that using just one of the 12V rails would be sufficient for most purposes.

Also, computer power supplies are often designed to shut down if it detects that there is not a load each of the voltage rails or if it detects that the voltage on one or more of the rails is outside normal operating range. You may need to put a small dummy load on each one of the unused voltage rails. It may even be useful to put a dummy load on the 12V rail that you are using for the charger.
As a starting point I would try putting a 50 to 100mA load on each rail. Maybe only 20mA on the -12V rail.
To select a suitable load resistor value use R=V/I. For example 12V / 0.050 A = 240 ohms - 220 ohms is a common value and is near enough.
Also check power rating P (in watts) = V^2 / R (V^2 means V squared)