Totally new to RC, need some help with an AXN

Here's an area where you can ask any kind of question about RC models and find a whole lot of useful information to help you get started.

Totally new to RC, need some help with an AXN

Postby Ant » Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:35 pm

Hi,

I'm totally new to RC - only really found out about it a few weeks ago (I thought it would cost $1000 to buy an rc plane, not $100 :D )

Anyway I watched Bruce's video on the AXN and obviously its the one to start with, so there's a couple of things he doesn't cover in the video because it's not aimed at total beginners. So here goes:

I need a receiver - the HK support people said to buy this one : http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... oduct=8991. Is that the best one to get? I wouldn't know if they were trying to sell me the most expensive thing ever just cause I'm a noob :D Not that it is really that expensive though… btw what is the difference between RX and TX? Also, I live on 100 acres so I have a couple of kilometres to play with - I'd like to get a receiver that will let the plane fly a fair way out (at least 1000m) without losing control.

I need a charger - again HK said this one: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... ories.html - is it the best to get? I bought this battery cause it was in stock - http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... _Pack.html.

Second lastly I'd love a video cam to stick on the plane to record my flight - what is the best camera for less than $50?

Lastly, I'd love to fly with my kids - I saw on a review somewhere that you can get 2 x controllers where one overrides the other, so you can have your kids (or anyone else) fly the plane but you have ultimate control over it. Can someone please post a link to 2 controllers I can use with the AXN that will allow this?

Thanks for your help!

Ant (from Aus)
Ant

Re: Totally new to RC, need some help with an AXN

Postby BillGriffiths100 » Sun Jan 13, 2013 2:57 pm