RC Plane question for a Noob

Here's an area where you can ask any kind of question about RC models and find a whole lot of useful information to help you get started.

RC Plane question for a Noob

Postby Ant » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:53 pm

Hey people,

New to RC, bought an AXN, followed Bruce's epic video build, took AXN out and crashed it pretty quickly (several times)... it's glued up fine but won't take much more punishment before being un-useable.

So I thought I'd try something easier, which is what my question is: are the 'flying wing' type rc planes even easier to fly than the AXN or should I just stick with the AXN till i get the idea?

Some of the hobbyking flying wings are (don't know if these will work as links but will try anyway):

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... ouse_.html
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... ouse_.html

Should I look at one of these as a total beginner, or stick with the AXN and go to a local club? Are they easier to fly than the AXN? My assumption is that a 3 channel plane HAS to be easier than a 4 channel but I could be wrong. Also does the Turnigy 9x support the delta/aileron mixing so the ailerons become the elevator as well?

Thanks,

Ant
Last edited by Ant on Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ant

Re: RC Plane question for a Noob

Postby iflylilplanes » Wed Apr 03, 2013 12:46 am

Hi Ant,
The AXN is the better, the wings you have the URLs for are way above beginners. What you realy need is to join a club, there you will get help setting up the AXN, trimming and instruction, very few people learn by them selves, and, yes the 9X will support wing mixing. Tell us where you are and we mite be able to point you at a club.
Many Thanks,

Dave W.

Dead Stick Glide Distance: Half the distance from the airplane to the nearest emergency landing field.
iflylilplanes

Postby Ant » Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:29 am