Using Sims

Here's an area where you can ask any kind of question about RC models and find a whole lot of useful information to help you get started.

Using Sims

Postby midway » Tue Jul 13, 2010 6:42 am

I am interested in flying a Seagull Boomerang 53 Trainer with an OS 46AX Engine and will use either a FutabaT6EXA or Spektrum DX6i TX and would be interested in anyone's comments about any of this gear.
Also, before buying my start up stuff, I would like to practice on a simulator.
Is anyone aware of a good, reasonably priced software package that works with either of the above TX units, to save buying a complete sims kit which includes a radio. Midway
midway
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 6:14 am

Re: Using Sims

Postby RCModelReviews » Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:56 am

I would think that most simulators will support either radio as they're quite common.

If you're on a budget then you'll probably want to buy just a cheap USB simulator interface dongle and cord appropriate for your radio then download a copy of FMS (a free flight simulator).

Most of the commercial flight sims are pretty spendy -- but very good.
RCModelReviews.com, just the facts.
User avatar
RCModelReviews
 
Posts: 2120
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 3:40 am

Re: Using Sims

Postby Oddnoun » Tue Jul 13, 2010 11:01 pm

I just recently purchased Phoenix RC which is really nice and I very much enjoy it. I very much like the feature about using my real transmitter so I can get some muscle memory. I would start with the 6CH USB from Dynam.
Oddnoun
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 5:28 am

Re: Using Sims

Postby midway » Thu Jul 15, 2010 5:42 am

Thanks guys for the advice. It seemed from info on a sims sales sight that you needed to buy the sims package which included a controller. Nice to know I can now save some money.
midway
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 6:14 am

Re: Using Sims

Postby minibell » Sun Nov 28, 2010 9:57 am

FMS
http://n.ethz.ch/~mmoeller/fms/index_e.html
Is still a nice Sim if you add photoreal scenery and the latest aircraft downloads.[and add a bit of wind and bumps]
Addons at; http://www.rc-sim.de/

Be aware that FMS might have trouble running on Viesta or Windows7.
You will probably need to search the net for extra info on this.
This version is said to work on win7;[it is 28MB, as it has extra scenery and aircraft]
http://cid-b2a7867cce931929.skydrive...08.5.part1.rar
minibell
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:18 am


Return to For Beginners (if you're just getting started in RC)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron