Wireing a trimpot!

If you've been building electronic bits or modifying stuff you've bought then tell us all about it here. A good place to discuss the installation of 2.4GHz DIY modules too.

Wireing a trimpot!

Postby klintoco » Wed May 26, 2010 9:38 am

Hi,
first of all, I´m from Sweden, so I hope you can understand my english.

I am trying to make a "single stick" transmitter from one of my old Graupner MC12´s, replacing the righthand stick with a shaft with a built-in pot in the knob.
So far so good, shaft with pot is in, working great, but I need to sort out wireing of a trimpot, as I loose it in that new position.
Who can help?

Btw, for those of you who don´t know the MC12 radio, I can say that it is a progammable 7ch, that comes without knobs and switches, and out of the box it is only 4ch.

You can internally connect pots or switches at will for the 3 extra channels, and there are 5 connectors for mixerswitches or whatever you need.
klintoco
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 10:39 pm

Re: Wireing a trimpot!

Postby RCModelReviews » Wed May 26, 2010 9:09 pm

Do the other pots have a mechanical trim or do they have separate trim-pots?
RCModelReviews.com, just the facts.
User avatar
RCModelReviews
 
Posts: 2120
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 3:40 am

Re: Wireing a trimpot!

Postby klintoco » Wed May 26, 2010 9:28 pm

Trims are mechanical on the other axis.
klintoco
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 10:39 pm

Re: Wireing a trimpot!

Postby RCModelReviews » Wed May 26, 2010 9:44 pm

That makes life a little more difficult.

You could try wiring a high-value (50K or 100K-ohm) trim-pot across the existing pot and see if that provides enough trim control without upsetting the centering or total throw.
RCModelReviews.com, just the facts.
User avatar
RCModelReviews
 
Posts: 2120
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 3:40 am


Return to DIY Projects and Hacks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest